About The Greater Cleveland Safety Council

The Greater Cleveland Safety Council (GCSC) is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organization that operates throughout Northeast Ohio, but primarily focuses on the Greater Cleveland Metropolitan Area. The organization was officially established as a Safety Council in 1919, which makes it one of the oldest Safety Councils in the country and a charter member of the American Association of Safety Councils.

Today, the organization is governed by a Board of Directors selected from member companies and is operated by a professional office staff. The Council's Office and Classroom are located in the Hanna Building in downtown Cleveland at East 14th and Euclid Ave.

The organization encourages safe practices and accident prevention at the workplace, manufacturing facilities, busy highways, and everywhere in between. With these efforts, a number of business and law enforcement officials have thanked our council and our programs for helping to create an atmosphere of safety in the community.

Our Objectives

  • To benefit members and encourage health & safety throughout the Greater Cleveland Area and beyond.
  • To promote and assist community activities designed to decrease the numbers and costs of industrial, public, highway, and home accidents.
  • To conduct community programs and activities relating to public safety, industrial safety, and a general campaign of public education.
  • To ascertain the number and causes of accidents, how they could have been prevented, and recommend measures to prevent repetition.
  • To encourage safety procedures and practices in industries, schools, homes, and on the roads & highways.
  • To maintain a library of resources and offer assistance with employee-safety organizations and community campaigns.
  • To maintain an active Speakers' Bureau with staff and volunteers.

Board of Directors: Executive Officers

Daniel J. Neubert
Executive Director

Vice President Treasurer
Tom J. Neff
Rockwell Automation
EH&S Manager


Executive Vice President Secretary
Thomas J. Rabe
Greater Cleveland Safety Council
Executive Director


First Vice President
                    Michael S. Procuk                             Village of Brooklyn Heights            Mayor


Vice President General Counsel



Immediate Past President
Patricia Symonette

                Second Vice President                Phyllis Hill
U.S. Department of Defense, 
DFAS Cleveland
Safety Manager 



Board of Directors: Members

Kenneth J. Alvey
Lake Erie Marine
Trades Association


William Hocevar
Great Lakes Construction Company
Safety Director


Mack G. Thomas
NASA Glenn Research Center
Community & Media Relations


Richard W. Czeck
Greater Cleveland Regional
Director of Safety


Sandra G. Monday CHST
FDR Safety
Safety Consultant


Eduardo Romero
City of Cleveland
Risk Manager




Michael Elias
Northern Ohio Chapter of American Society of Safety Engineers


Harvey Siegel
Coit Services of Ohio


James J. Presot
North Royalton City Schools
Assistant Superintendent

Office Staff

Thomas J. Rabe
Executive Vice President



Jackie Amos
Administrative Assistant


Joseph Ivan

Pamela Gray-Mason
Administrative Assistant